On The Farm- August 2nd

 The first tender zucchinis are rare and desirable.  They mark the beginning of our heat loving, vegetable-fruits, moving the season away from salad, salad, and more salad. They were limited their first week, but they are now rolling in. The basket that first contained them is replaced with two large crates, and some more squashes will be waiting to refill the bins as they empty into your share bags.

 Cherry tomatoes begin to ripen in the field. I hope you will wander down and taste the first sun-sweetened fruits. I choose to tomato-fast when the jewels of the garden are not in season, and the first golden orb to pass through my lips is like water quenching my thirst on the hottest day of the year- right and needed, and wonderful. I watched as the first few Sun Golds turned from green to  bright orange and ate them as soon as they did. But in a month’s time, when they are not so scarce, overripe and ignored fruits will fall to the ground.

 I hope that when I am tired of picking cherry tomatoes, overwhelmed by beans, and totally uninterested in summer squash that I can remember how I relished all of the firsts.

~ by handhollowfarm on August 28, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
